Labour council election candidates

Tuesday February 21st 2017

Midlothian Labour Candidates

Members of the Midlothian Labour Party have chosen their Candidates to contest the Council elections this coming May.

Ten Candidates have been selected to run in the County’s six Wards with a mix of sitting councillors, returning and new candidates.

Announcing the candidates’ names, Midlothian Labour Group Leader Derek Milligan said

“I feel privileged to have been reselected to stand as a Labour candidate in my home town of Bonnyrigg and to lead the Labour Group again into this year’s election. Our candidates bring an excellent mix of experience, enthusiasm and optimism for Midlothian to our campaign. Labour has a positive vision for how our council can support the people of Midlothian and enhance our communities.”

“Working families have suffered for too long under this SNP led administration, with 5 years of incompetence, in-fighting and weak leadership by Cath Johnstone and her four predecessors. Midlothian Labour is the only Party going into this election united, with a clear promise to stand up for the people of Midlothian, no matter who is in power at Holyrood or Westminster.”

Returning candidate Louie Milliken said

“As a mother, foster carer and student, I feel the impact of SNP cuts on my family and our communities every day. I volunteer in my local area but even this is under threat due to council budget cuts. In these tough times we need a strong voice for Midlothian, not an administration all to ready to pass through SNP/Tory cuts.”

The list of Candidates is:
Ward 1 Penicuik – Cllr Adam Montgomery
Ward 2 Bonnyrigg – Cllr Derek Milligan and Louie Milliken
Ward 3 Dalkeith – Steven Curran and Cllr Margot Russell
Ward 4 Midlothian West – Stephen Blain and Cllr Russell Imrie
Ward 5 Midlothian East – John Hackett
Ward 6 Midlothian South – Cllr Jim Muirhead and Cllr Bryan Pottinger

Tweet Share on Facebook  

Subscribe to the Midlothian View newsletter

Support Midlothian View from as little as £1. It only takes a minute. Thank you.

Comments are closed.