Secondary pupils enjoy design success at Ikea

Thursday May 5th 2016

Winners Higher Design and Manufacture

Higher Design and Manufacture and pictured from left to right are: 1st Place – Douglas Jones, Lasswade HS, 2nd Place – Ben Keay, St. David’s HS, 3rd Place – Fraser Jamieson, Penicuik HS.

IKEA at Straiton was the venue for a special awards ceremony for talented design students from Midlothian secondary schools.

The Midlothian Secondary Schools Design Competition is now in its 16th year. It celebrates the best design work from the past year in the six secondary schools in Midlothian.

Around 70 pupils from S4 – S6 were selected by their Craft Design Technology department to participate in the competition.

Each pupil entered is regarded as a winner within their school as they have been selected for having completed the ‘best’ work over the year.

In the competition, the work of the pupils was judged over five categories with the best three in each category being recognised with a prize from IKEA.

The winners of the Higher categories also receive an opportunity to gain work experience at IKEA.

The competition organiser on behalf of Midlothian Council, Ian Keith said: “The overall standard this year was excellent and the pupils should be very proud of their efforts. As teachers we aim to inspire the pupils we teach on a daily basis, and through initiatives bringing education and local companies together, like our partnership with IKEA, we will hopefully inspire the pupils to undertake careers in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM).”

The pupils placed in each category were:

National 5 Design and Manufacture
1st Place – Carolyn Reid, Penicuik HS
2nd Place – Zainab Hussain, Lasswade HS
3rd Place – Lucas Archibald, Penicuik HS

National 5 Graphic Communication
1st Place – Jodi Millar, Lasswade HS
2nd Place – Erin Birrell, Newbattle HS
3rd Place – Lyndsay Ross, Dalkeith HS

Best Practical Work
1st Place – Cameron McNeil, Penicuik HS
2nd Place – Rory Hutchison, Dalkeith HS
3rd Place – Erin Birrell, Newbattle HS

Higher Design and Manufacture
1st Place – Douglas Jones, Lasswade HS
2nd Place – Ben Keay, St. David’s HS
3rd Place – Fraser Jamieson, Penicuik HS

Higher Graphic Communication
1st Place – Erin Clarkson, Newbattle HS
2nd Place – Rachel Ramsay, Newbattle HS
3rd Place – Thomas Rietvelt, Lasswade HS

Tweet Share on Facebook  

Subscribe to the Midlothian View newsletter

Support Midlothian View from as little as £1. It only takes a minute. Thank you.

Comments are closed.