Sunak pledges £20m for Mayfield in Midlothian

Monday June 3rd 2024


Written by Midlothian View Editor, Phil Bowen

Prime Minister Rishi Sunak has announced that 30 towns across the UK will all receive £20m from the UK Government.

The money is part of the Conservative UK Government’s Long-Term Plan for Towns, with Mayfield one of four Scottish towns to benefit from the latest round of funding.

Scottish Conservative and Unionist candidate for Midlothian Keith Cockburn says it is “fantastic” news that the Prime Minister has confirmed a Conservative UK Government would invest £20 million in Mayfield.

The £20 million would be paid directly to Midlothian Council with a town board set up to bring together local representatives, business leaders and community organisations to develop a plan for Mayfield.

Each town will receive £20m over the next 10 years.

Keith says this is evidence of the Conservative’s commitment to directly investing in towns across the country including Mayfield, in sharp contrast to the SNP’s sustained cuts to local councils.

Mr Cockburn has added that he hopes the SNP Government is prepared to work closely with Midlothian Council to ensure the funding is spent on local people’s priorities and helps to transform Mayfield.

Scottish Conservative and Unionist candidate Keith Cockburn said: “This is fantastic news for Mayfield.

“The £20 million worth of funding from the UK Government would be a major boost for the local economy and help to deliver on the priorities facing people in Mayfield.

“It is welcome that the money would be delivered directly to Midlothian Council who are best placed to decide how this £20 million will be spent in our communities.

“That direct investment is in sharp contrast to the SNP who have imposed savage and sustained cuts on Mayfield for years.

“The SNP Government must work closely with Midlothian Council and the towns board which will be set up to ensure this money is spent on what local people want and helps to create new opportunities for people living and working in Mayfield”.

The Conservatives spokesperson said

“Over £1 billion is already set out in Government plans for Long Term Plan for Towns. These 30 additional towns will cost around £60 million per annum which is affordable from within our tax avoidance plans. Those plans will raise £6 billion a year, of which we have committed £1 billion to national service and £2.4 billion for pensions.

The list of 30 towns receiving the money are

1. Tamworth, West Midlands

2. Preston, North West

3. Kidderminster, West Midlands

4. Redditch, West Midlands

5. Cannock, West Midlands

6. Skelmersdale, North West

7. Camborne, South West

8. Newcastle-under-Lyme, West Midlands

9. Thornaby-on-Tees, North East

10. Burton upon Trent, West Midlands

11. Little Hulton, North West

12. Gainsborough, East Midlands

13. Halifax, Yorkshire and The Humber

14. Ilkeston, East Midlands

15. Wythenshawe, North West

16. Corby, East Midlands

17. Grantham, East Midlands

18. Wigston, East Midlands

19. Bognor Regis, South East

20. Dronfield, East Midlands

21. Fleetwood, North West

22. Alloa, Scotland

23. Perth, Scotland

24. Mayfield, Scotland

25. Helensburgh, Scotland

26. Newtown, Wales

27. Abertillery, Wales

28. Flint, Wales

29. Enniskillen, Northern Ireland

30. Newry, Northern Ireland

Tweet Share on Facebook  

Subscribe to the Midlothian View newsletter

Support Midlothian View from as little as £1. It only takes a minute. Thank you.

Comments are closed.


Midlothian View Advertising