Time to decide who are you going to vote for in Midlothian

Wednesday May 4th 2022

ballot box

Written by Local Democracy Reporter, Marie Sharp

A late change to a polling station for Midlothian Council’s election has been announced. Newtongrange Church Hall, which was a venue for many voters in Midlothian South ward, is no longer being used with people being redirected to Newtongrange Leisure Centre instead.

The council said the late decision to change the polling station was due to circumstances “beyond our control” and they will have signs at the church hall advising people to go to the leisure centre which is across the street from the original polling station.

Three councillors will be elected in each of the six wards, so there will be 18 councillors elected in total for Midlothian.

Scottish Local Government Elections are conducted under the Single Transferable Vote (STV) electoral system. This means voters rank the candidates in order of their preference.

Here is a video explainer of the voting system from the Electoral Commission.

People who are eligible to vote will have received polling cards which give their local polling station on it but here is a quick run down of where you can vote across Midlothian tomorrow. There is also a link to a Midlothian View article about the candidates in each ward.

Penicuik ward:

North Kirk of Scotland, 95 John Street, Penicuik;

The Penicuik Centre, 39A Carlops Road, Penicuik;

YMCA, 58 Queensway, Penicuik;

Ladywood Leisure Centre, 14A Yarrow Court, Penicuik.

The candidates for the Penicuik ward.

Bonnyrigg ward:

Lasswade Pavilion, Lasswade Park, Lasswade;

The Lasswade Centre, Eskdale Drive, Bonnyrigg;

Bonnyrigg Primary School, Cockpen Road, Bonnyrigg;

Burnbrae Primary School, 144 Burnbrae Road, Bonnyrigg.

The candidates for the Bonnyrigg ward.

Dalkeith ward:

Danderhall Community Hub, 59 Edmonstone Road, Danderhall;

St John’s & Kings Park Church, 31 Eskbank Road, Dalkeith;

Dalkeith Miners Club, Woodburn Road, Dalkeith;

Dalkeith Campus, 1 Cousland Road, Dalkeith.

The candidates for the Dalkeith ward.

Midlothian West ward:

Bilston Primary School, Park Avenue, Bilston;

The Steading, Carnethie Street, Rosewell;

Roslin Community Hall, Pentland View Place, Roslin;

The Loanhead Centre, George Avenue, Loanhead;

Beeslack Community High School, Edinburgh Road, Penicuik;

The Glencorse Centre, 4 Firth Road, Auchendinny.

The candidates for the Midlothian West ward.

Midlothian East ward:

Edinburgh College (Midlothian Campus), 46 Dalhousie Road, Eskbank;

Newbattle Community Campus, Newbattle Way, Easthouses, Dalkeith;

Cousland Village Hall, Hadfast Road, Cousland;

Pathhead Pavilion, Callendar Park, Pathhead;

Fala Village Hall, Fala.

The candidates for the Midlothian East ward.

Midlothian South ward:

North Kirk of Scotland, 95 John Street, Penicuik;

Temple Village Hall, 30 Temple Village, Temple;

Newtongrange Leisure Centre, Main Street, Newtongrange;

Gorebridge Leisure Centre, Hunterfield Road, Gorebridge;

Birkenside Sports Pavilion, Rosebery Crescent, Gorebridge;

Middleton Village Hall, 54 Borthwick Castle Terrace, North Middleton.

The candidates for the Midlothian South ward.

Tweet Share on Facebook  

Subscribe to the Midlothian View newsletter

Support Midlothian View from as little as £1. It only takes a minute. Thank you.

Comments are closed.