Midlothian Council Election 2022 – Bonnyrigg ward

Thursday April 28th 2022


Clockwise from top left: Daya Feldwick, Scottish Green Party, Derek Milligan, Scottish Labour Party, David Virgo, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party, Dianne Alexander, SNP

Written by Local Democracy Reporter, Marie Sharp

Scottish Greens candidate Daya Feldwick is aiming to reinstate a Green councillor on Midlothian Council after a five-year gap at next month’s election.

The 2017 election saw incumbent Green councillor Ian Baxter lose his seat to Conservative candidate Janet Lay-Douglas.

Daya hopes to carry on his work and has vowed to take on developers who she says win over the will of local communities too often.

She says: “I am aware that planning processes do not always work for the people they are supposed to; developers’ interests frequently trump those of local communities and the environment, and this is unacceptable.”

2017 election results

Derek Milligan 29% FPv (1,901 total)
Janet-Lay Douglas 21.6% (1,708.1 total)
Dianne Alexander 18.4% (1,778.9 total)

2022 election candidates

Council leader Derek Milligan will defend his seat in Bonnyrigg along with SNP councillor Dianne Alexander.

There are only four candidates for the ward and each of the four parties they represent have had sitting councillors elected here in the last ten years.

Mr Milligan said: “The local elections are about choosing councillors who will prioritise local issues, like housing, education, community facilities, councillors who will stand up to the government and fight for core infrastructure such as doctors, nurses, teachers, hospital services, public transport and road capacity.”

Full list of candidates for Bonnyrigg ward:

– Dianne Alexander, SNP
– Daya Feldwick, Scottish Green Party
– Derek Milligan, Scottish Labour Party
– David Virgo, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Tweet Share on Facebook
Support Midlothian View from as little as £1. It only takes a minute. Thank you.

Comments are closed.


Midlothian View Advertising